Congrats to Gould for winning Bronze

It was great seeing some amazing women in yesterdays Olympic  Cross Country Mountain Bike race.  Congrats to Bresset for winning gold and a huge congrats to Gould (Team USA) for earning the bronze! 

Bresset powers to gold

Julie Bresset of France celebrates winning the Women’s Cross-country Mountain Bike race

Julie Bresset of France celebrates winning the Women’s Cross-country Mountain Bike race on Day 15 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at Hadleigh Farm

World Under-23 champion Bresset led from the gun and triumphed in 1:30.52.

The Beijing 2008 champion Sabine Spitz of Germany was second, 1:02 behind, with Georgia Gould of the USA third, six seconds further adrift.

Spitz and Bresset were in the front group as the Frenchwoman went through the start-finish line with a lead of four seconds with three laps to go.

Spitz went over her handlebars on a steep rocky section known as Deane’s Drop as Bresset went further clear.

Bresset appeared unstoppable as she passed through the two-laps to go marker in 1:40, with Spitz 33 seconds adrift.

With one lap to go, Bresset led by 57 seconds, and she continued to press on for victory.

The 23-year-old Bresset said: ‘I’m very happy. It’s amazing to win today. I hoped to win a medal and a gold medal is unbelievable.

‘I started well, I took the front of the race and I managed it well.

‘When I had a gap I told myself: “Now, I should go”. I led until the finish and I’m very content.’

via Bresset powers to gold – London 2012 Olympics.

Leave a Reply

